

Dear NJAM Member:

We are delighted to invite members to submit nominations for the prestigious John Cotton Dana Award. Mr. Dana, who founded the Newark Museum in 1909, was a pioneer in his belief that museums should strive to become a stronger and more enriching presence in people's lives. His progressive philosophy regarding the educational and community service roles of museums still holds true today.

Since the inception of the Dana Award in 1989, the list of its recipients has come to represent New Jersey's outstanding professionals who have made significant contributions to the growth and development of its museums. The Dana Award is presented at NJAM's annual meeting.

The Dana Award is a unique opportunity to collectively recognize the outstanding professionalism of its honorees. We ask you to review the criteria for the award and submit your nominations on the enclosed form.

Submissions must be received no later than <u>May 1, 2024</u>, and may be sent via email to <u>nicholas.ciotola@sos.nj.gov</u> **AND** <u>njassociationofmuseums@gmail.com</u>. You will receive a confirmation email when your submission is received.

Your participation will ensure that those museum professionals who work to preserve the quality of New Jersey's museums receive the recognition that they so richly deserve.

Sincerely,

Nicholas P. Ciotola NJAM Nominating Committee Chair New Jersey Association of Museums



JOHN COTTON DANA AWARD

Who will be eligible?

Any individual working as a paid professional in an institution within the state of New Jersey which meets the criteria of NJAM of a Museum, an Art Center, an Historic Site, a Science Center, a Children's Museum, a Zoo, an Aquarium, an Arboretum, or Botanical Gardens as defined by the American Association of Museums, the Association of Science-Technology Centers, the Association of Botanical Gardens and Arboreta, or any agency that administers museums or historic sites is eligible to be the recipient of the John Cotton Dana Award.

No currently serving New Jersey Association of Museums (NJAM) board member may be nominated.

Prior recipients of the Dana Award are not eligible.

Criteria:

The recipient will be honored for advancing the service of museums to the region, for demonstrating visionary and innovative leadership and /or exemplifying the highest standards of professional commitment. Special consideration should be given to the achievements of people in mid-career. Selection Process: The award will be determined by the board of the NJ Association of Museums.

How to Make a Nomination:

Any individual member or staff of a member institution of the New Jersey Association of Museums may nominate a candidate for the award. Nominations should be submitted in the form of a letter or application form, in which the nominator documents how the nominee's experience and contributions meet the award criteria. Nominations should be sent to the New Jersey Association of Museums to the attention of the Dana Award Committee.

You will receive an email confirmation when your nomination is received. Please make sure to follow up to confirm receipt of your nomination form.



NJAM 2024 JOHN COTTON DANA AWARD NOMINATION

The John Cotton Dana Award honors any individual, organization, or institution that has advanced the service of museums to the region, demonstrated visionary and innovative leadership and/or has exemplified the highest standards of professional commitment. Special consideration is given to the achievement of people in mid-career.

Name of Nominee:	_
Nominee's position and institution:	_ -
Brief statement of reason for nomination (attach additional sheets as needed):	-
	- - -
	- - -
	- -
	- - -
Your Name:	-
Your position and institution:	

Application deadline: **May 1, 2024.** Please email completed application to Nicholas Ciotola, Chair, Nominating Committee at nicholas.ciotola@sos.nj.gov **AND** to the NJAM email address at njassociationofmuseums@gmail.com.

You will receive an email confirmation when your nomination is received. Please make sure to follow up if you do not receive a confirmation receipt for your email.



JOHN COTTON DANA AWARD

Recipients

recipients	
1989	Founding Museums: The Montclair Art Museum The Newark Museum Princeton Art Museum New Jersey State Museum
1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2013 2015	Mr. Sam Miller Ms. Ann Fabbri Mr. John Petersen Ms. Nancy B. Gay Ms. Cynthia Koch Mr. Daniel Reibel Ms. Leah Sloshberg Mr. Zoltan Buki Dr. B. Michael Zuckerman Mr. Barry Taylor Ms. Gail Stern Ms. Sara Riviera Cureton Ms. Mary Sue Sweeney Price Dr. Emlyn H. Koster Ms. Rebecca A. Buck Mr. James F. Turk, Ph. D. Mr. Ulysses Dietz Ms. Twig Johnson Mr. Steve Miller Ms. Ann Marie Miller Mr. Peter Watson Ms. Michelle Ortwein Ms. Claudia Ocello Ms. Gail Stavitsky
2017 2019 2022	Ms. Patricia Anne Salvatore Mr. Ralph E. Hunter, Sr. Ms. Shirley Thomas



NJAM Board of Trustees 2023-2024

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Louise K. Barrett, Princeton University Art Museum – President

OPEN - Vice President

Audrey E. Carmeli, The Newark Museum of Art – Treasurer

Kellie Haines, Wheaton Arts and Cultural Center – Secretary

Nicholas P. Ciotola, New Jersey State Museum - Nominating Chair

BOARD MEMBERS

Elizabeth Frasco, Montclair Art Museum

Princess G. Hoagland, Trent House Association

Sam Hwang, Grounds for Sculpture

Ryan Hyman, Macculloch Hall Historical Museum

Kiki Michael, Zimmerli Art Museum

Claudia B. Ocello, Museum Partners Consulting

Cindy Srnka, Whitesbog Preservation Trust

Sierra Van Ryck deGroot, Museum Hue

Joe Zemla, Monmouth County Historical Association